Yellowstone Superintendent Receives American Forests’ Forest Resilience Champion Award

Jad Daley, President and CEO of American Forests, left, gives Cam Sholly, Superintendent of Yellowstone National Park, an award at the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, Montana/American Forests, Colter Peterson

American Forests has recognized Yellowstone National Park Superintendent Cam Sholly as its 2023 Forest Resilience Champion Award recipient.

The Forest Resilience Champion Award commends Sholly’s critical work conserving whitebark pine, a federally designated threatened species that has experienced rapid decline across its range in the Western United States over the past several decades.

As Yellowstone superintendent, Sholly has overseen work to protect and restore whitebark pine in the park, working with the U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, and tribal partners, as well as researchers and organizations, like American Forests, the Whitebark Pine Ecosystem Foundation, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and the Ricketts Conservation Foundation.

“Superintendent Sholly’s leadership in conserving and restoring whitebark pine ecosystems in Yellowstone has been second to none,” said Jad Daley, president and CEO of American Forests. “Through advancing partnerships, implementing best scientific practices, and protecting landscapes and communities alike, Superintendent Sholly is helping to restore not only whitebark pine populations but forests in the park as a whole.”

“Thank you to American Forests for this award and for our tremendous shared work in raising awareness of the need for science-backed restoration of the landmark whitebark pine,” Sholly said. “Everyone has a role in the recovery and conservation of this iconic species in the West, and I’m proud of the work we’re accomplishing across jurisdictions to provide a better future for our forests.”

Each year, American Forests presents Champion Awards to leaders who help advance the health and restoration of America’s forests. Previous Forest Resilience Champions include Washington State Commissioner of Public Lands Hilary Franz and the original, bipartisan co-sponsors of the REPLANT Act, U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow, Sen. Rob Portman, Congressman Jimmy Panetta, and Congressman Mike Simpson. Senator Cory Booker was also recently recognized with a 2023 Tree Equity Champion Award for his advocacy advancing urban and community forestry.
Shopping cart